Entry 1 Poems

My Shadow

By Robert Louis Stevenson
Read by Asha

I have a little shadow that goes in and out with me, 
And what can be the use of him is more than I can see. 
He is very, very like me from the heels up to the head; 
And I see him jump before me, when I jump into my bed. 

The funniest thing about him is the way he likes to grow– 
Not at all like proper children, which is always very slow; 
For he sometimes shoots up taller like an india-rubber ball, 
And he sometimes goes so little that there’s none of him at all. 

He hasn’t got a notion of how children ought to play, 
And can only make a fool of me in every sort of way. 
He stays so close behind me, he’s a coward you can see; 
I’d think shame to stick to nursie as that shadow sticks to me! 

One morning, very early, before the sun was up, 
I rose and found the shining dew on every buttercup; 
But my lazy little shadow, like an arrant sleepy-head, 
Had stayed at home behind me and was fast asleep in bed.

 

The Tyger – from Songs Of Experience

By William Blake
Read by Sayad

Tyger! Tyger! burning bright
In the forests of the night,
What immortal hand or eye
Could frame thy fearful symmetry?

In what distant deeps or skies
Burnt the fire of thine eyes?
On what wings dare he aspire?
What the hand dare sieze the fire?

And what shoulder, & what art.
Could twist the sinews of thy heart?
And when thy heart began to beat,
What dread hand? & what dread feet?

What the hammer? what the chain?
In what furnace was thy brain?
What the anvil? what dread grasp
Dare its deadly terrors clasp?

When the stars threw down their spears,
And watered heaven with their tears,
Did he smile his work to see?
Did he who made the Lamb make thee?

Tyger! Tyger! burning bright
In the forests of the night,
What immortal hand or eye
Dare frame thy fearful symmetry?

1794

 

The Creeps

By ___
Read by Adina

Meet the Creeps.
Mr creep is far from sweet.
He’s got three legs and smelly feet.
Mrs creep is the creepy queen.
Her knees are blue and her hair is green.
Teeny Creep likes to peep so he always wins at hide and seek.
The creepiest three you’ll ever meet,
The creepy Creeps from creepy street. 

The Kiss

By Sara Teasdale
Read by Cristina

I hoped that he would love me, 
And he has kissed my mouth, 
But I am like a stricken bird 
That cannot reach the south. 

For though I know he loves me, 
To-night my heart is sad; 
His kiss was not so wonderful 
As all the dreams I had. 


Do you know Mary?

Author unknown
Read by Irina

Do you know/now Mary?
Mary who?
Mary McDonald.
Of course I do.

Do you know-her little brother?
Yes,of course I do.
I know her brother, and her mother
and her father too.

Do you know her older sister?
Yes,of course I do.
I know her older sister, Betty
and her younger sister, Sue.

Do you know her Aunt Esther?
Yes,of course I do.
I know her aunts and her uncles
and  her cousins too.

Do you know her husband Bobby?
Yes, of course I do.
I know her husband and his brother
and his father too.

From My Heart

By Mrs Creeves
Read by Igors

A million stars up in the sky
one shines brighter I cant deny
A love so precious a love so true
a love that comes from me to you
The angels sing when you are near
within your arms I have nothing to fear
You always know just what to say
just talking to you makes my day
I love you honey with all of my heart
together forever and never to part.

Every cat has a story

By Naomi Shihab Nye
Read by Lorraine

The yellow one from the bakery
Smelled like a cream puff
She followed us home
We buried our faces
in her sweet fur

One cat hid her head
while I practiced violin
but she came out for piano
At night she played sonatas
on my quilt

One cat built a secret nest
in my socks

One sat in the window
staring up at the street all day
while we were at school

One cat loved the radio dial

One cat almost smiled

An extract from the The Magic Pudding

By Norman Lindsay
Read by Javier
 
“On Tuesday morn, as it happened by chance,
The parsnips stormed in a rage,
Because the young carrots were singing like parrots
On top of the onions’ cage.
 
“The radishes swarmed on the angry/ungry air
Around with the bumble bees,
While the brussels-sprouts were pulling the snouts
Of all the young French peas.
 
“The artichokes bounded up and down
On top of the pumpkins’ heads,
And the cabbage was dancing the highland fling
All over the onion beds.
 
“So I hadn’t much time, as Your Honour perceives,
For watching the habits of puddin’thieves.”
 

Love me tender

By Elvis Presley
Read by Marinela

Love me tender,
Love me sweet,
Never let me go.
You have made my life complete
And I love you so.
 
Love me tender,
Love me true,
All my dreams fulfilled.
For my darlin’ I love you,
And I always will.
 
Love me tender,
Love me long,
Take me to your heart.
For it’s there that I belong,
And well never part.
 
Love me tender,
Love me dear,
Tell me you are mine.
I’ll be yours through all the years,
Till the end of time.
 

Hope is the thing with feathers

By Emily Dickinson
Read by Farahnaz

“Hope” is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul
And sings the tune without the words
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land
And on the strangest sea,
Yet never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

Waiters

Dining with his older daughter
Dad forgot to order water.
Daughter quickly called the waiter.
Waiter said he’d bring it later.

So she waited, did the daughter,
Till the waiter brought her water.
When he poured it for her later,
Which one would you call the waiter?

Hot and Cold

By Roald Dahl
Read by Bianca
 
A woman who my mother knows
Came in and took off all her clothes.Said I, not being very old,
‘By golly gosh, you must be cold!”No, no!’ she cried. ‘Indeed I’m not!
I’m feeling devilishly hot!’
 

Click for a selection of poems by Roald Dahl. (You don’t have to choose a Roald Dahl poem.)

Click for a website with a list of famous poets and links to their poems.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
